Pretzel Bites

Standard

This week I decided to tackle one of my first recipe pins: Pretzel bites!

Years ago I made soft pretzels a couple of times a year (delicious!) but haven’t made them in a couple of years. They’re a favourite mall snack of mine, so trying the bites was a great way of trying something new with a familiar treat 🙂

Here’s the Pinspiration

First step was to mix the water, sugar, yeast, and butter together.IMG_3068

The pictures end here for awhile because the recipe suggests mixing the dough with a dough hook. Since I don’t own a dough hook, I mixed the dough with my hands 🙂 and neglected the camera.

I won’t post the full recipe here, as the website does a great job of that.

Skipping ahead to after the dough has risen…

Divide the dough into 8 pieces:

IMG_3070

Roll out each piece and cut into 1 inch “bites”:

IMG_3071

Boil the bites for 30 seconds in a water and baking soda mixture:

IMG_3072

Brush with an egg & water mixture, and sprinkle with salt (or cinnamon & sugar)

IMG_3073

Bake & enjoy!

IMG_3074

These were delicious! My taste testers devoured the first plate in minutes.

It suggests a cheese sauce, and although I didn’t make it this time, I would try it next time. I’m also interested in making cinnamon & sugar bites.

I did find the process to make these time consuming, even in comparison to making regular soft pretzels. I’ll have to make those again in the near future, to really compare the experiences. But from memory, I would say I would make pretzels again before making these.

One thought on “Pretzel Bites

Leave a Reply

